release the spring

Scarnella was Carla Bozulich and Nels Cline. This particular performance took place in 2000.

I had the privilege of seeing them perform the entirety of the Red Headed Stranger album (yes, Willie Nelson) on tour in 2004. Amazing musicians, both.

Release The Spring

The spring is pushing against my breast
My fist clenched
I’m trying to hold back
I am bursting

It will break forth!
It will pounce!

Tracks in the bloody snow melt and reveal
A busy and wakeful splendor.
Seeing red, then blue
Burning hot in two.
Ice fills every capillary.

If it happens all around,
It must be happening to me,
It’s just more difficult to see
By the light of my TV.

I’ll hide out from the sun
Or light the fuse and run.
How does this dog expect
To have its day?

If it happens all around,
It must be happening to me,
It’s just more difficult to see
By this stupid candlelight.
Seeing red, then blue
Burning hot in two.
Ice fills every capillary.

Petals push out and swim
Pressing into form.
The little nests,
What could be more dear?

(Spoken:)

Somehow there is a record
The lies don’t matter
The unrealistic claims and tall tales
Exist as their own tiny addition
To the only true and accurate picture
This is comprehensible to no one in its vast entirety
But somewhere,
Just as the word goes out
To release the commencement of springtime
And all related effects,
My own failed attempts to live an honest life
Are illuminated perfectly, cleanly
And without judgment.

Leave a Reply

